## SAHITYA AKADEMI

Orissa Sahitya Akademi an institution of letters was established in the year 1957 for work actively for the development of Oriya Language and Literature and to set high literary standards to foster and co-ordinate literary activities and to promote through them all, the cultural unity of the State.

#### **AIMS & OBJECTIVES**

- to promote co-operation among men of letters and literary associations, Universities and cultural organisations and to encourage the establishment and development of representative literary associations concerned with the advancement of Oriya literature;
- (ii) to encourage or to arrange translation of literary works from different Indian languages into Oriya and also from foreign languages into Oriya and vice verse;
- (iii) to publish or to assist associations and individuals in publishing literary works including bibliographies, dictionaries, bilingual or multilingual encyclopaedias, basic vocabularies etc., in the Oriya Language and also publishing literary journals, reviews and lists of publications in Oriya;
- (iv) to sponsor or to hold literary conference, seminars and exhibitions;
- (v) to award prizes and distinctions and to give recognition to individual writers for outstanding works.
- (vi) to promote research in Oriya language and literature and to encourage the propagation and study of such literature;
- (vii) to improve and develop the Oriya and other scripts in use in Orissa and to encourage publication of selected books in Oriya Language in the Devanagari Script;
- (viii) to promote cultural exchanges with other states in India and countries abroad and to correspond and establish relations with National and International organisations in the field of letters;
- (ix) to encourage writers on scientific subjects or of text books at collegiate stage in Oriya;
- (x) to receive grants, endowments and other donations and in furtherance of the objectives and activities of the Akademi to purchase land, to own proporty of all kinds and to maintain, sell, mortgage or othewise dispose of it, and
- (xi) to be such other acts and things whether incidental to the powers aforesaid or not, as may be required in order to further its objects.

### PRESIDENTS OF THE ORISSA SAHITYA AKADEMI AND HIS TENURE

SI.No.	Name	From	То
1.	Pt. Nilakantha Dash	9.10.57	8.10.58
2.	Dr. Laxminarayan Sahu	9.10.58	15.9.61
3.	Dr. Harekrushna Mahatab	16.9.61	22.9.63
4.	Shri Santosh Kumar Sahu	23.9.63	2.9.66
5.	Shri Sadasiva Tripathy	3.9.66	7.3.67
6.	Sri Nityananda Mohapatra	8.3.67	30.6.67
7.	Dr. Harekrushna Mahatab	1.7.67	8.6.71
8.	Shri Sarat Kumar Kar	9.6.71	30.6.72
9.	Smt. Nandini Satapathy	1.7.72	21.3.73
10.	Shri Herambanarayan Das Mohapatra	22.3.73	9.4.74
11.	Shri Jadunath Das Mohapatra	10.4.74	19.10.75
12.	Shri Gangadhar Mohapatra	20.10.75	28.10.76
13.	Sk. Matulab Ali	29.10.76	25.6.77
14.	Shri Biswabhusan Harichandan	26.6.77	18.7.78
15.	Shri Sachidananda Routray	19.7.78	25.8.81
16.	Shri Surendra Mohanty	26.8.81	31.12.87
17.	Mohapatra Nilamani Sahoo	1.1.88	31.5.90
18.	Smt. Manorama Mohapatra (Samaj)	19.6.91	11.7.94
19.	Shri Kishori Charan Das	12.7.94	12.5.97
20.	Shri Janaki Ballav Pattnaik	1.1.98	12.5.99
21.	Dr. Giridhar Gamango	13.5.99	5.12.99
22.	Shri Hemananda Biswal	6.12.99	4.3.2000
23.	Shri Nabin Pattnaik	5.3.2000	16.7.2000
24.	Shri Pathani Pattnaik	17.7.2000	23.7.2003
25.	Shri Deepak Mishra	20.2.2004	

### SECRETARY OF THE ORISSA SAHITYA AKADEMI AND HIS TENURE

SI.No.	Name	From	То
1.	Shri Rajkishore Ray	06.09.57	25.06.58
2.	Shri Gouri Kumar Brahma	26.06.58	03.06.67
3.	Shri Kahnucharan Mohanty	04.06.67	23.03.68

4.	Dr. Binod Chandra Nayak	08.04.68	02.09.73
5.	Shri Manoranjan Das	16.11.74	15.01.80
6.	Shri Raicharan Das	15.04.80	23.03.83
7.	Shri Chintamoni Behera	31.03.83	16.08.85
8.	Shri Surendranath Satapathy	12.9.85	30.06.90
9.	Shri Indubhusan Kar	17.08.90	04.11.94
10.	Shri Rajkishor Mishra	05.12.94	30.09.96
11.	Dr. Haraprasad Parichha Pattnaik	01.10.96	19.05.99
12.	Smt. Pramila Mishra (Incharge)	19.05.99	09.08.99
13.	Shri Ashuni Kumar Mishra	09.09.99	31.12.02
14.	Shri Dologobinda Nayak (Incharge)	01.01.03	24.08.03
15.	Shri Rajkishor Mishra	25.08.03	24.08.04
16.	Shri Kailash Chandra Sahu (Incharge)	25.08.04	14.09.04
17.	Shri Chandra Sekhar Das Burma	15.09.04	continuing

ORISSA REFERENCE ANNUAL - 2004

# **RESEARCH INSTITUTIONS IN ORISSA**

- 1. Central Rice Research Institute, Cuttack
- 2. Intermediate Ballistic Research Centre, Chandipur, Balasore
- 3. Odissi Research Centre, Bhubaneswar
- 4. Kedarnath Gabesana Pratisthan, Bhubaneswar
- 5. Central Institute of Freshwater Aquaculture, Bhubaneswar
- 6. Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar
- 7. Regional Research Laboratory, Bhubaneswar
- 8. Coconut Research Centre, Sakhigopal
- 9. Nabakrushna Choudhury Institute of Economic Foundation, Bhubaneswar
- 10. Pathani Samanta Planetarium, Bhubaneswar
- 11. Tribal Research Institute, Bhubaneswar
- 12. Regional Linguistic Centre, Bhubaneswar
- 13. Acharya Harihar Cancer Research Institute, Cuttack
- 14. Indian Medical Research Centre, Chandrasekharpur, Bhubaneswar
- 15. Software Technology Park, Chandrasekharpur, Bhubaneswar