THE ORISSA PRESS ACCREDITATION RULES - 1994

INFORMATION AND PUBLIC RELATIONS DEPARTMENT

NOTIFICATION

The 8th January 2001

No. 918 – I & P. R.– In exercise of the powers conferred by the 17 of the Orissa Press Accreditation (Constitution of the Orissa Press Accreditation Committee and Grant of Accreditation) Rules, 1994, the Government of Orissa, on the recommendations of the Committee, hereby makes the following rules, namely:

- 1. (1) These rules may be called the Orissa Press Accreditation (Constitution of Orissa Press Accreditation Committee and Grant of Accreditation) Amendment Rules, 2 001.
 - (2) They shall come into force with effect from the date of publication of the Notification.
- 2.In the Orissa Press Accreditation (Constitution of Orissa Accreditation Committee and Grant of Accreditation) Rules, 1994 in rule 4:-
 - (a) for sub-rule (ii) the following sub-rule shall be substituted namely:
 - "(ii) The Orissa Press Accreditation Committee shall consist of the Director, Information and Public Relation as Chairperson and a maximum of 19 other members, representing recognised All-India Association/ Organisations of Working Journalist/ Media Persons who should otherwise be eligible for accreditation under these rules" and
 - (b) after sub-rule (vi), the following sub-rule shall be added, namely :-
 - "(vii) The decisions of the Orissa Press Accreditation Committee shall be taken on the basis of majority of the members of the committee.
 - (viii) There shall be a standing sub-committee of the Orissa Press Accreditation Committee, consisting of five Bhubaneswar based members to consider and take decisions of the accreditation cases of urgent nature and other related matters. These cases will be placed before the OPAC at its next meeting for confirmation.
 - (ix) The Director, Information and Public Relations shall have the power to great regular accreditation in cases where an accredited news media representative charges his organisation to another accredited organisation."

By order of the Governer

DURGA MADHAB DASH

Director and Joint Secretary to Government

Amended Rules of the Orissa Press Accreditation (Constitution of the Orissa Press Accreditation) Committee and Grant of (Accreditation) Rules 1994, published in The Extraordinary Orissa Gazette No. 1294 August 22, 2003.

NOTIFICATION

The 22nd August 2003

No.22466-2003-IPR.— In exercise of the powers conferred by the 17 of the Orissa Press Accreditation (Constitution of the Orissa Press Accreditation Committee and Grant of Accreditation) Rules, 1994, the Government on the recommendations of the Director, hereby makes the following rules further to amend the Orissa Press Accreditation (Constitution of the Orissa Press Accreditation Committee and Grant of Accreditation) Rules, 1994, namely:

- (i)These rules may be called the Orissa Press Accreditation (Constitution of Orissa Press Accreditation Committee and Grant of Accreditation) Amendment Rules, 2003.
 - (ii) They shall come into force on the date of their publication in the Orissa Gazette.
- 2. In the Orissa Press Accreditation (Constitution of Orissa Press Accreditation Committee and Grant of Accreditation Rules, 1994 in rule 4, (a) for sub-rule (ii), the following sub-rule shall be substituted namely:
- "(ii) The Orissa Press Accreditation Committee shall consist of the Director, Information and Public Relations as Chairman and a maximum of 19 other members representing recognised All India Associations/Organisations of Working Journalists Media Persons who shall otherwise be eligible for accreditation under these rules. Editors will also be eligible notwithstanding their ineligibility for Accreditation. At least two representatives from electronic media may also be taken as members of the Orissa Press Accreditation Committee by way of nomination by Government": and
- (b) In sub-rule (viii), after the word "Bhubaneswar", the symbol and word/ "Cuttack" shall be inserted.

By order of the Governor

B.P.MOHANTY

Director and Joint Secretary to Government