GOVERNORS OF ODISHA (1936 to 2016)

SI. No.	Name of the Governor	Date of Joining
(1)	(2)	(3)
1	His Excellency	
	Sir John Austen Hubback	01-04-1936–11-08-1938
2	His Excellency	
	Mr. George Townsend Boag	11-08-193807-12-1938
	C.S.I.C.S.E., I.C.S. (Acting).	
3	His Excellency	
	Sir John Austen Hubback	08-12-1938–31-03-1941
4	His Excellency	
	Sir Hawthrone Lewis	01-04-1941–31-03-1946
	K.C.S.T.K.C.I.E., I.C.S.	
5	His Excellency	
	Chandulal Trivedi	01-04-1946–14-08-1947
	K.C.S. C.I.E. O.B.E., I.C.S.	
6	His Excellency	
	Dr. Kailash Nath Katju	15-08-1947–20-6-1948
7	His Excellency, Mr.M.Asaf Ali	21-6-1948-05-05-1951
8	His Excellency	
	Shri V. P. Menon (Acting)	06-05-1951–17-07-1951
9	His Excellency	
	Mr. M. Asaf Ali	18-07-1951–06-06-1952
10	His Excellency	
	Saiyid Fazl Ali, Barrister-at-Law	07-06-1952–09-02-1954
11	Shri P.S.Kumaraswamyraja	10-02-1954–11-09-1956
12	Shri Bhimsen Sachara	12-09-1956–31-07-1957
13	Shri Yeshwant Narayan	
	Sukthankar, M.A., LL.B.	31-07-1957–15-09-1962
	(CONTAB) Bar-at-Law, I.C.S. (Retd.)	
14	Dr. Ayodhya Nath Khosla	16-09-196205-08-1966
15	Shri Khaleell Ahommed (Acting)	05-08-1966–11-09-1966

16	Dr. Ajudhia Nath Khosla	12-09-1966-30-01-1968
17	Dr. Shaukatullah Shah Ansari	31-01-1968-20-09-1971
18	Sardar Jogendra Singh (Acting)	20-09-1971-30-06-1972
19	Justice Shri Gatikrishna Misra (Acting)	01-07-1972-08-11-1972
	(0,	
20	Shri Basappa Danappa Jati	08-11-1972-20-08-1974
21	Justice Shri Gatikrishna Misra (Acting)	21-08-1974-25-10-1974
22	Shri Akbar Ali Khan	25-10-1974–17-04-1976
23	Justice Shri Shiva Narayin Sankar (Acting)	17-04-1976-07-02-1977
24	Shri Harcharan Singh Brar	07-02-1977–22-09-1977
25	Shri Bhagwat Dayal Sharma	23-09-1977–30-04-1980
26	Shri Cheppudira Muthana Poonacha	30-04-1980–30-09-1980
27	Justice Shri S. K. Ray (Acting)	01-10-1980–03-11-1980
28	Shri Cheppudira Muthana Poonacha	04-11-1980-24-06-1982
29	Justice Shri R. N. Mishra (Acting)	25-06-1982-31-08-1982
30	Shri Cheppudira Muthana Poonacha	01-09-1982–17-08-1983
31	Shri Bishambhar Nath Pande	17-08-1983-20-11-1988
32	Shri Saiyid Nurul Hasan	20-11-1988-06-02-1990
33	Shri Yagya Datt Sharma	07-02-1990-01-02-1993
34	Shri Saiyid Nurul Hasan	01-02-1993–31-05-1993
35	Shri B. Satyanarayan Reddy	01-06-1993–17-06-1995
36	Shri Gopala Ramanujam	18-06-1995–30-01-1997
37	Shri K. V. Raghunatha Reddy	31-01-1997–12-02-1997
38	Shri Gopala Ramanujam	13-02-1997–13-12-1997
39	Shri K. V. Raghunatha Reddy	13-12-1997–27-04-1998
40	Dr. C. Rangarajan	27-04-1998–14-11-1999
41	Shri M.M.Rajendran	15-11-1999 - 16-11-2004
42.	Shri Rameshwar Thakur	17-11-2004 - 20.08.2007
43.	Shri Murlidhar Chandrakant Bhandare	21.08.2007 - 20.03.2013
44.	Dr. S.C. Jamir	21.03.2013 - (continuing)
	D1. 0.0. 041111	21.00.2010 (continuing)

NAME OF THE ODIA FREEDOM FIGHTERS AND STATESMEN WHO HAVE BECOME GOVERNORS IN OTHER STATES

- 1. Dr. Harekrushna Mahtab
- 2. Shri Nityananda Kanungo
- 3. Shri Biswanath Das
- 4. Shri Surendra Nath Dwibedi
- 5. Shri Lokanath Mishra
- 6. Shri Chintamani Panigrahi
- 7. Shri Janaki Ballav Patnaik
- 8. Smt Draupadi Murmu